Protolabs
Protolabs offers an automated, digital manufacturing platform enabling rapid prototyping and low-volume production across multiple processes such as CNC machining, injection molding, sheet metal fabrication, and additive manufacturing.
- CEO / Founder
- Suresh Krishna
- Team Size
- 1001-5000
- Stage
- Active
- Total Funding
- $52.2M
- Latest Round
- IPO
- Key Investors
- Morgan Stanley, Piper Jaffray
Technology & Products
Key Products
Protolabs offers Injection Molding, CNC Machining, 3D Printing, and Sheet Metal Fabrication. The company launched ProDesk in 2026, an AI-powered platform providing real-time quoting and DFM analysis for 50,000 customers across 3D printing and machining workflows.
Technical position · AMPulse analysis
Proprietary software and a hybrid manufacturing model combining in-house facilities with a global network of partners to accelerate production and reduce turnaround times.
Differentiation
Value Proposition
Accelerates time-to-market through integrated instant quoting, design for manufacturability feedback, and hybrid production models combining in-house and partner capabilities.
How They Differentiate
Protolabs differentiates itself through its automated, digital manufacturing platform, offering rapid prototyping and low-volume production across multiple processes. Their hybrid production model combines in-house capabilities with a global partner network, enabling instant quoting, DFM feedback, and accelerated time-to-market.
Market & Competition
Target Customers
Product designers, engineers, and supply chain teams from startups to large enterprises
Industry Verticals
Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Consumer Electronics, Medical Devices, Industrial Equipment, Robotics, Energy
Competitors
Xometry, Fictiv
Growth & Milestones
Growth Metrics
Reported revenue of $501 million in 2024; Q1 2026 revenue was $139.3M (up 10.4% YoY); serves tens of thousands of customers globally with millions of parts produced annually.
Major Milestones
Founded in 1999, IPO on NYSE in 2012, Acquisition of Rapid Manufacturing in 2017, Acquisition of Hubs in 2021, Appointment of Suresh Krishna as CEO in May 2025, Launch of ProDesk AI platform in February 2026, Continuous expansion of service offerings and manufacturing capabilities
Notable Customers
NASA; Major automotive OEMs; Leading aerospace firms; Medical device companies
Recent coverage of Protolabs
Official records
Filings, certifications, and programme counts AMPulse can show for this company.
FY2025 financial performance
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31 · USD · Consolidated company financials
- Revenue growth (YoY)
- 6.44%
Revenue: USD 533,127,000
Jan 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025
10-K · filed 2026-02-20Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:RevenueFromContractWithCustomerIncludingAssessedTax
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
Prior-year revenue: USD 500,890,000
Jan 1, 2024 to Dec 31, 2024
10-K · filed 2026-02-20Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:RevenueFromContractWithCustomerIncludingAssessedTax
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
- Operating margin
- 4.71%
Operating income: USD 25,110,000
Jan 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025
10-K · filed 2026-02-20Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:OperatingIncomeLoss
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
Revenue: USD 533,127,000
Jan 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025
10-K · filed 2026-02-20Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:RevenueFromContractWithCustomerIncludingAssessedTax
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
- R&D / revenue
- 8.03%
R&D expense: USD 42,808,000
Jan 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025
10-K · filed 2026-02-20Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:ResearchAndDevelopmentExpense
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
Revenue: USD 533,127,000
Jan 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025
10-K · filed 2026-02-20Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:RevenueFromContractWithCustomerIncludingAssessedTax
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
Calculation and sources
AMPulse calculation: (Revenue / prior-year revenue − 1) × 100
Calculation and sources
AMPulse calculation: Operating income / revenue × 100
Calculation and sources
AMPulse calculation: R&D expense / revenue × 100
3D Printing
AM service line3D Printing service line. Excludes injection molding, CNC machining, sheet metal and other revenue.
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31 · USD
- Consolidated revenue
- USD 533,127,000
- Business revenue
- USD 80,298,000
- Business growth (YoY)
- -4.14%
- Business / company revenue
- 15.06%
Revenue calculation and sources
AMPulse calculations: business growth = (business revenue / prior-year business revenue − 1) × 100. Business share = business revenue / consolidated revenue × 100.
Technical identifiers
- XBRL tag
- us-gaap:RevenueFromContractWithCustomerIncludingAssessedTax
- SEC accession
- 0001443669-26-000010
Consolidated revenue: USD 533,127,000
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31
3D Printing revenue: USD 80,298,000
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31
Prior-year 3D Printing revenue: USD 83,767,000
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Annual comparison
| Period ending | Revenue | Growth | Operating margin | R&D / revenue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | USD 533,127,000 | 6.44% | 4.71% | 8.03% |
| 2024-12-31 | USD 500,890,000 | Unavailable | 3.98% | 8.24% |
- [F] 2025 annual · USD 533,127,000
- [F] 2024 annual · USD 500,890,000
- [C] ISO_9001 · claimed
- [C] AS9100 · claimed
- [C] ITAR · claimed
- [C] ISO_13485 · claimed
- [C] RAPID + TCT 2025 · exhibitor
- [C] RAPID + TCT 2024 · exhibitor
Funding rounds
- IPO$79M2012-02Lead: Morgan Stanley · Source: SEC Form S-1
Equipment deals on record
Publicly disclosed purchases or installs only.
- Lumia X1
Not disclosed
Buyer: Protolabs · Supplier: Axtra3D - Lumia X1
1 systems · Not disclosed
Buyer: Protolabs · Supplier: Axtra3D - Lumia X1
1 systems · Not disclosed
Buyer: Protolabs · Supplier: Axtra3D